We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

EU steps up the fight against flouters of new egg welfare laws

December 22, 2011 12:15 PM
EU Commissioner John Dalli has revealed that action has already begun at European level to punish Member States who have made little or no effort to conform to new egg welfare laws.
The Commissioner said that letters have already been sent to Member States informing them they will be taken to court for failing to comply with laws to outlaw battery cages.
He also revealed that his inspection teams are ready to go all out from 1st January 2012 to collect the evidence of non compliance to back up the prosecution when it goes to court.
He reinforced the message to those who are breaking the law that there will be no derogations and no escape route for those who have failed to comply
Commenting, Diana said:
"European Health Commissioner Dalli has given a cast iron guarantee that there will be no extension of the 1st January deadline for compliance and there will be no derogations offered to those who have failed to comply
"I was pleased to hear that infringement procedures have already been started against Member States that have chosen to flout the law and that EU inspectors are poised ready to gather evidence against them from the start of 2012.
"I hope the tough action the Commissioner is taking will send a message to those countries who think that they can turn a blind eye . They had better think again and get their hen houses in order.
"I hope the Commission is also going to back the coalition government and the many farmers in Yorkshire & the Humber who are fully compl Battery hens ()ying with this new legislation which has come at a cost of £400 million.
"If that type of action is taken by all countries that are compliant it should hit hard at the pockets of illegal producers and force them to get out or upgrade."
The thirteen Member States that have been found to be in breach of new rules are as follows:
Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Spain, Greece, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and the Netherlands.